Home Meetings Governance Awards Membership Communications Resources Contact

Section on Sociological Practice Awards


Call for Nominations for the Section on Sociological Practice and Public Sociology Awards

Below are the descriptions for the Call for Award Nominations offered by the Sociological Practice and Public Sociology Section of the American Sociological Association for an established practitioner of sociology, and for a student practitioner. This is a wonderful opportunity to give recognition perhaps long due to sociologists who have worked hard to do make a difference through the practice of sociology. Nominations are due by March 15, please contact the section Chair for any further information.

William Foote Whyte Award
William Foote Whyte Distinguished Career Award: The William Foote Whyte Award is for up to two individuals who have made notable contributions to sociological practice and public sociology, which can include several of the following elements: outstanding clinical, applied or public sociological work, exceptional service to the section, publications that advance both the theory and methods of sociological practice or public sociology, or mentoring and training of students for careers in sociological practice or public sociology. Nominations should consist of a letter detailing the nominees contributions and supporting materials such as a curriculum vitae or resume, and/or additional letters of support. Please send nominations by March 15, 2009 to the section chair

Robert Dentler Award for Outstanding Student Achievement

The Robert Dentler Award for Outstanding Student Achievement* is for up to two graduate students who have made a promising contribution to the field, such as a project or paper in the areas of sociological practice and public sociology. Work done within the three years prior to the conferral of the award will be considered. Products of graduate-level classes, internships, or independent projects are eligible. An award recipient who attends the 2009 ASA Annual Meeting will receive a cash award of $200 to offset travel expenses. Nominations should consist of a letter detailing the nominees contributions, a copy of the paper or other project, and supporting materials such as a curriculum vitae or resume, and/or other additional letters of support. Please send nominations by March 15, 2009 to the section chair.

* The Sociological Practice Student Award was renamed in 2008, by unanimous vote of the Section Council, in honor and memory of Robert Dentler, former Section Chair, as well as President of the Society for Applied Sociology, whose work advanced not just our field, but also the American people.

Awards and Awardees

    • William Foote Whyte Award
      • 2009: Dr. Kristin Moore, Child Trends.
      • 2008: Professor J. Steven Picou, University of South Alabama.
      • 2007: Professor Robert Bullard, Ware Professor of Sociology and Director of the Environmental Juistice Resource Center at Clark Atlanta University.
      • 2006: Dr. Barbara Altman, Distinguished Consultant Appointee as Special Assistant for Disability Statistics at the National Center for Health Statistics.
      • 2005: Professor Severyn Bruyn, Emeritus, Department of Sociology, Boston College.
      • 2004: Professor Charles Vert Willie, Emeritus, Harvard University.
      • 2003: Dr. Judith Cook, Professor of Sociology in Psychiatry and Director of the Mental Health Services Research Program at the University of Illinois at Chicago.
      • 2002 Julia Mayo, St. Vincent's Catholic Medical Centers
      • 2001 Stephen F. Steele, Anne Arundel Community College and Applied Data Associates
      • 2000 Lewis Yablonsky, California State University, Northridge
      • 1999 Donald Light, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey
      • 1998 Ross Koppel, University of Pennsylvania
      • 1996 William Foote Whyte, Cornell University
      • 1994 Ronnie J. Steinberg, Temple University
      • 1993 Robert Dentler, University of Massachusetts-Boston (emeritus)
      • 1992 David J. Kallen, Michigan State University
      • 1989 Albert Gollin, Newspaper Advertising Bureau
      • 1987 Katrina Johnson, NIH
      • 1986 Arthur B. Shostak, Drexel University
      • 1985 Anne Knettles McCarrick, Medical College of Virginia
      • 1983 Jack Riley, retired; Matilda White Riley, NIH

    • Student Award
      • 2009: Lou Jacobson, Humboldt State University, California, for his work on motivations and decision-making processes for adopting energy-efficient products.
      • 2008: Becky Hsu, Princeton University, for her work on the use of microcredit in China to alleviate poverty.
      • 2007: Darren Noy for his work "Principles for Organic Public Sociology: Reflections on publicly engaged research in the San Francisco homeless policy field"
      • 2006: Antoinette Swayne-Kohlman, Alliant International University.
      • 2005: Dolores Forbes-Edelen
      • 2004: Nancy Wong
      • 2002 Kirsten Sletten, St. Cloud State University
      • 2001 Emily Sama Martin, University of Pennsylvania
      • 1999 Megan Cross, University of San Diego
      • 1998 Teri Kepner, Society for Applied Sociology
      • 1996 Gary David, Wayne State University
      • 1989 Shari Williams, Temple University